Incoterms 2010 took effect on January 1st, 2011.

Since the last revision, Incoterms 2000, there have been a number of changes in both global and domestic trade, this revision addresses those changes.

In contrast to the previous four classes, E, F, C, and D, Incoterms will now be separated into 2 groups, those applicable to all modes of transport and those only applicable to sea and inland waterway transport.

There are a total of 11 terms instead of 13, with 2 new additions, DAP and DAT and 4 deletions, DAF, DDU, DEQ and DES.

Incoterms 2010 applicable for all models of transport:

  • EXW: ex works
  • FCA: free carrier
  • CPT: carriage paid to
  • CIP: carriage and insurance paid to
  • DAT: delivered at terminal - NEW!
  • DAP: delivered at place - NEW!
  • DDP: delivered duty paid
  • FAS: free alongside ship
  • FOB: free on board
  • CFR: cost and freight
  • CIF: cost, insurance and freight